Banner Community Program - ALOM

The mission of ALOM is to foster local government in Allegheny County and Southwestern Pennsylvania by educating elected officials, delivering essential resources and advocating for sound policy and legislation.

ALOM is helping public servants make their communities better.

Riverfront Place
810 River Avenue, Suite 110
Pittsburgh, PA 15212
P | 412.261.2521
F | 412.261.7606


Thank you to all of the municipalities that submitted applications for the 2020 Banner Community Program. ALOM had a record breaking 74 Communities Achieve Banner Community Status this year. A recognition event was held on March 6 at PNC Park and featured remarks from the County Executive. Click here to view the event photo album.

As a result of their outstanding commitment to professional development, prudent fiscal management, transparency, accountability and proactive communications to engage community stakeholders, these communities have achieved Banner Community status in 2020:

Aspinwall Borough
Baldwin Borough
Baldwin Township
Bellevue Borough
Municipality of Bethel Park
Brentwood Borough
Bridgeville Borough
Butler Township
Carnegie Borough
Castle Shannon Borough
Collier Township
Crafton Borough
Cranberry Township
Dormont Borough
East Deer Township
East McKeesport Borough
Edgewood Borough
Edgeworth Borough
Elizabeth Township
Emsworth Borough
Etna Borough
Forest Hills Borough
Fox Chapel Borough
Glassport Borough
Green Tree Borough
Hampton Township
Hampton Shaler Water Authority
Harrison Township
Harrison Township Water Authority
Heidelberg Borough
Indiana Township
Jefferson Hills Borough
Kilbuck Township
Leet Township
Leetsdale Borough
Marshall Township
Town of McCandless
Millvale Borough
Municipality of Monroeville
Municipality of Mt. Lebanon
Munhall Borough
North Fayette Township
North Versailles Township
Oakmont Borough
O’Hara Township
Ohio Township
Pine Township
Pitcairn Borough
Pleasant Hills Borough
Port Vue Borough
Reserve Township
Richland Township
Robinson Township
Ross Township
Ross/West View EMS Authority
Scott Township
Shaler Township
Sharpsburg Borough
South Fayette Township
South Park Township
Swissvale Borough
Tarentum Borough
Upper St. Clair Township
Verona Borough
West Deer Township
West Homestead Borough
West Mifflin Borough
West View Borough
Whitehall Borough
Wilkins Township
Wilkinsburg Borough
Wilkinsburg-Penn Joint Water Authority
Wilmerding Borough


Local engineering firm Herbert, Rowland & Grubic (HRG) has partnered with HRG - headline 1us to serve as the key sponsor of the Banner Community Program.  HRG is a an employee-owned, full-service civil engineering and related services firm that provides quality, cost-effective design solutions to public and private sector clients. As the Banner Community Program Sponsor, HRG is demonstrating its corporate values of unwavering dedication to quality, accuracy, and budget.